Plays by A. W. Pinero

Arthur Wing Pinero

This volume contains four plays by the leading late Victorian and Edwardian playwright Arthur Wing Pinero (1855 1934). It provides a representative sample of the work of a writer who far outshone his rivals (including both Wilde and Shaw) in his own day, and inspired such successors as Somerset Maugham and Terence Rattigan in the genre of the 'wellmade play', and Ben Travers in the writing of farce. The plays are The Schoolmistress (1866), one of the famous Court farces; The Second Mrs Tanqueray (1893), the best known of all the plays about 'a woman with a past'; Trelawny of the 'Wells' (1898), a much-loved backstage romance; and The Thunderbolt (1908), a pioneering social drama. Two of the plays (The Schoolmistress and The Thunderbolt), are not available in print elsewhere. This scholarly edition includes an introduction, a biographical account, a full list of Pinero's plays in performance and publication, and several important appendixes, including an alternative ending to The Schoolmistress and significant variants in the text of The Second Mrs Tanqueray."

Book tags: plays, pinero, epub, download, epub, arthur wing pinero

Download Plays by A. W. Pinero (ePub)

Another links (mirrors):

plays_by_a_w_pinero.epubePub5.2 Mb
plays_by_a_w_pinero.zipePub.zip2.08 Mb
plays_by_a_w_pinero.torrenttorrent0.08 Mb